Qantas Tour of England - ODIs

Paine, Morgan agree pre-series handshake

Australia captain keen to carry on with new tradition started in the wake of Cape Town scandal

Dave Middleton at The Oval, London

13 June 2018, 08:50 AM AEST

Relaxed Paine ready for England challenge

Australia captain Tim Paine will stick with his pre-series ritual of a handshake between the squads ahead of Wednesday's first ODI at The Oval.

Anointed captain in the wake of Cape Town's ball tampering, Paine introduced a handshake ahead of the Johannesburg Test to mark the start of the new era, and England have agreed to the practice to get the ODI series off on the right foot.

"It's something I said in South Africa I would like to bring in to start a series," Paine said.

"We won't be doing it in every game but it's a good show of sportsmanship before a series starts."

In case you played and missed it: ODI preview

Shortly after Paine spoke to the British media pack at his official pre-series appearance, he greeted England captain Eoin Morgan. After the pair posed for photographers with a pelican-themed trophy Paine invited England to join in the handshake ritual.

"I am absolutely happy with that, it doesn't bother me," Morgan told reporters.

"They are trying to turn around the image of the game in their country and we are all for that. We want cricket to be as popular as ever.

"It's important for the game to have a strong Australia side – we're more than happy to shake hands if that creates a different image for people."

The Australians will be under immense scrutiny in their first international since South Africa, with a heavy UK press focus on Australia's approach to changing the culture and player behaviour.

"We've spoke about all of this (culture change and player behaviour) over the last few months, and we are aware that words are only words," Paine said.

"We'll be judged on our actions going forward and it'll be plain for everyone to see.

Langer, Paine set out their expectations for Australia

"We've spoken about our values and how we want to be perceived by the Australian public and the cricket public in general. But words are words and on Wednesday we have to show them in our actions."

Paine and head coach Justin Langer have been quizzed endlessly on the topic already on this tour, and have stressed they have laid out for the team there is a clear difference between sledging or banter and abuse.

Paine said his Australia side would not "be silent" on the field and Morgan has endorsed the Australians' words, adding that his team would refrain from using the ball-tampering scandal to bait the Aussies.

"It will be service as usual," Morgan said.

"We play our cricket pretty hard, positively and aggressively, so we'll continue to do that."

The first match begins tonight, with coverage on GEM from 9.30pm AEST.

Qantas tours of England and Zimbabwe

ODI squad: Tim Paine (c), Aaron Finch (vc), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Travis Head, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Marsh, Michael Neser, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye

England ODI squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes (injured), David Willey, Chris Woakes (injured), Mark Wood

T20 squad: Aaron Finch (c), Alex Carey (vc), Ashton Agar, Travis Head, Nic Maddinson, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Andrew Tye, Jack Wildermuth

Qantas Tour of England

June 7: Australia beat Sussex by 57 runs at Hove

June 9: Australia beat Middlesex by 101 runs at Lord's

June 13: First ODI, The Oval (D/N)

June 16: Second ODI, Cardiff

June 19: Third ODI, Trent Bridge (D/N)

June 21: Fourth ODI, Durham (D/N)

June 24: Fifth ODI, Old Trafford

June 27: Only T20, Edgbaston (D/N)

Qantas T20I tri-series Tour of Zimbabwe

July 1: Zimbabwe vs Pakistan

July 2: Pakistan vs Australia

July 3: Australia vs Zimbabwe

July 4: Zimbabwe vs Pakistan

July 5: Pakistan vs Australia

July 6: Australia vs Zimbabwe

July 8: Final