India v Australia ODIs - Men's

Aussies make two changes for decider

Stoinis and Lyon return as the tourists aim for an historic series win against India in the fifth and final ODI

Sam Ferris at Feroz Shah Kotla Ground, Delhi

13 March 2019, 06:27 PM AEST

Australia captain Aaron Finch has won the toss and opted to bat first in tonight's fifth and deciding ODI against India in Delhi.

The tourists have made two changes to the side that levelled the series in Mohali, recalling Marcus Stoinis and Nathan Lyon.

After passing a fitness test on his broken right thumb on Tuesday, allrounder and Australia's reigning ODI Player of the Year Stoinis returns to the middle order, while off-spinner Lyon will again complement leggie Adam Zampa in a dual spin attack.

As the Australians warmed up on the Feroz Shah Kotla Ground outfield, Stoinis was sporting a thick, black protective guard around the injured digit.

Veteran Shaun Marsh, who has made scores of 16, 7 and 6 this series, has been dropped from the side, while Jason Behrendorff is the paceman to miss out.

Marsh's lean run in India comes following a stunning streak of four hundreds in nine ODI innings across the past four months, however the veteran batsman appears to have been overlooked due to the match-winning form of fellow Western Australian Ashton Turner, whose unbeaten 84 in Mohali has given the tourists a shot at what would be an unlikely series win.

History beckons for Delhi decider

"It's a really good selection headache to have," said vice-captain Alex Carey on the eve of the contest.

"Ashton Turner coming in last minute and performing like he did, all of our batters are going well and the bowlers as well … whoever plays, we're really confident they'll do a great job."

India XI: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (c), Vijay Shankar, Kedar Jadhav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah. 

Australia XI: Aaron Finch (c), Usman Khawaja, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Turner, Alex Carey (wk), Jhye Richardson, Pat Cummins, Nathan Lyon, Adam Zampa.

Qantas Tour of India

First T20: Australia won by three wickets

Second T20: Australia won by seven wickets

First ODI: India won by six wickets

Second ODI: India won by eight runs

Third ODI: Australia won by 32 runs

Fourth ODI: March 10, Mohali

Fifth ODI: March 13, Delhi