Men's ODI World Cup 2019

Morgan suspended by the ICC

England skipper to miss fourth ODI against Pakistan after second slow over rate offence this year

Martin Smith

15 May 2019, 08:48 PM AEST

England skipper Eoin Morgan has been suspended from the fourth ODI against Pakistan after being found guilty of a second slow-over rate offence in less than three months.

England were ruled to be two overs behind the rate during their victory in Bristol on Tuesday and Morgan, having been found guilty of a similar offence against the West Indies in February, has copped a one-match ban and been fined 40 per cent of his match fee.

His teammates have also been fined 20 per cent of their match fees.

England bowled just seven overs of spin during Pakistan's innings and took four hours to complete their 50 overs.

Morgan has been banned due to this being his second offence in the past 12 months, however he won't have to worry about his recent record during the upcoming World Cup as suspension and demerit points from bilateral series are not carried over into global tournaments.

While hardly ideal just two weeks out from the start of the tournament, Morgan will sit out Friday’s fourth ODI at Trent Bridge knowing his team is in red-hot form as they aim to win the World Cup for the first time.

After the first match of the five-game series against Pakistan was washed out, the tournament favourites won the second match by 12 runs and then chased down a target of 359 with more than five overs to spare in game three.

England opener Jonny Bairstow, meanwhile, has also accepted a reprimand and been handed a demerit point after he struck the stumps with his bat after his dismissal in Bristol.

2019 World Cup

Australia's squad: Aaron Finch (c), Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey (wk), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

May 22: (warm-up) Australia v West Indies, Southampton

May 25: (warm-up) England v Australia, Southampton

May 27: (warm-up) Australia v Sri Lanka, Southampton

June 1: Afghanistan v Australia, Bristol (D/N)

June 6: Australia v West Indies, Trent Bridge

June 9: India v Australia, The Oval

June 12: Australia v Pakistan, Taunton

June 15: Sri Lanka v Australia, The Oval

June 20: Australia v Bangladesh, Trent Bridge

June 25: England v Australia, Lord's

June 29: New Zealand v Australia, Lord's (D/N)

July 6: Australia v South Africa, Old Trafford (D/N)

July 9: Semi-Final 1, Old Trafford

July 11: Semi-Final 2, Edgbaston

July 14: Final, Lord's

For a full list of all World Cup fixtures, click HERE