ICC Men's ODI World Cup 2019

Experts predict who will be Cup superstar

It's one of the most exclusive clubs in international cricket, but in seven weeks a new World Cup Player of the Tournament will be crowned

Sam Ferris

27 May 2019, 02:07 PM AEST

From Lance Klusener's fireworks in 1999 to Mitch Starc's white-ball wizardry in 2015, the ICC Cricket World Cup has witnessed some of the greatest performances in the history of the one-day game.

In 2019, 150 players from 10 teams will have the chance to etch their name in World Cup folklore, with one individual set to take out the coveted Player of the Tournament award.

First awarded in 1992 to New Zealand captain Martin Crowe, the Player of the Tournament has been handed out to seven players; Australians Glenn McGrath and Starc, Indians Sachin Tendulkar and Yuvraj Singh, South Africa's Klusener, Crowe and Sanath Jayasuriya from Sri Lanka for their extraordinary feats on the 50-over game’s biggest stage.

In less than two months an eighth Player of the Tournament, and 12th World Cup champion, will be crowned at Lord's.

So cricket.com.au asked four World Cup winners and legends of ODI cricket to gaze into their crystal ball and pick their 2019 World Cup Player of the Tournament

Allan Border, 1987 World Cup champion

"I think it's got to come from the top order. It could be (Aaron) Finch, it could be (Steve) Smith, it could be (David) Warner. It might be a strange thing to say but I hope it's Smith or Warner. They've been through a lot. They could be considered a little bit unlucky with the bans they faced. Yes, it was a pretty silly thing they did but wouldn't it be a turnaround if one of them was to win player of the tournament? I've got my fingers crossed for that one."

Smith scores stylish warm-up ton

Andrew Symonds, 2003 World Cup champion

"I'd say it'll be a batsman. I can see the tournament being fairly batting-friendly over there – you've got small grounds, two new balls, bat technology is good, the wickets should be pretty good. Let's hope it's an Aaron Finch or someone like that because if you've got someone who's scored a lot of runs at the top of the order it goes a long way to posting big totals and being competitive and winning games."

Mark Waugh, 1999 World Cup champion

"I would say Jos Buttler. His strike rate is unbelievable."

Ponting's World Cup danger man: Jos Buttler

Brett Lee, 2003 World Cup champion

"The player of the tournament, through hunger, through current form will be David Warner. Orange Cap holder (for most runs) at the IPL. I was there watching him play, I was at most of the games, he was outstanding. He's hungry, you can see it in his eyes. He's got that hunger back. I think it's the best he's played."

ICC Cricket World Cup Player of the Tournament winners

1992: Martin Crowe

1996: Sanath Jayasuriya

1999: Lance Klusener

2003: Sachin Tendulkar

2007: Glenn McGrath

2011: Yuvraj Singh

2015: Mitch Starc

Starc collects his 2015 World Cup Player of the Tournament award // Getty
Starc collects his 2015 World Cup Player of the Tournament award // Getty