Women's World T20 2018

World T20: Day one wrap

History was made and records fell on an action-packed opening day of the World T20 in the Caribbean

Laura Jolly at Providence Stadium

10 November 2018, 03:13 PM AEST

The results

India defeated New Zealand by 34 runs

Australia defeated Pakistan by 52 runs

West Indies defeated Bangladesh by 60 runs

The highlight

You can’t go past Harmanpreet Kaur’s incredible innings of 103 from 51 deliveries. The India skipper came to the crease with her team at 3-40 and in typically cool and calm Harmanpreet fashion, she set about dismantling the White Ferns attack. She brought up fifty from 33 balls and fought off cramp before reaching triple figures in just 49 balls, her second fifty incredibly coming from just 16 deliveries. To put that into context, the record for the fastest fifty in all women’s T20Is is 18 balls, and only two male players – Yuvraj Singh (12 balls) and Colin Munro (14) – have scored a faster half-century in all T20Is. It’s also the first ever T20I century from an Indian woman and only the third scored at a Women’s World T20 event - and it’s an exciting sign of what could come this summer from the Sydney Thunder star in the Rebel WBBL!

India's superstar made history in Guyana // ICC
India's superstar made history in Guyana // ICC

The record

West Indies allrounder Deandra Dottin set the Providence Stadium crowd alight when she took 5-5 against Bangladesh, the best-ever figures at a Women’s World T20. When Bangladesh restricted the Windies to 8-106 in the third and final match of the day, people began to ask whether the unlikeliest of outcomes could be possible - could ninth-ranked Bangladesh upset the reigning champions and hosts in front of a vocal home crowd? But there were two important factors to consider; first, it was the third game of the day on the same pitch and batting was becoming increasingly difficult. And second, the Windies had Dottin in their side. The fiery allrounder was dismissed for eight with the bat but made up for it in incredible fashion with the ball, taking a return catch to dismiss Fargana Hoque before bowling Nigar Sultana, Rumana Ahmed, Lata Mondal and Sanjida Islam, helping dismiss Bangladesh for just 46.

Australia clinch World Twenty20 opener

The other records

The historians were kept busy on day one of the tournament. First, India racked up the highest ever team total at a Women’s World T20 with their score of 5-194, before Bangladesh were bowled out for the lowest, dismissed for 46.

The tweet

Australia ‘keeper Alyssa Healy drew praise from around the world for her efforts behind the stumps on Friday, executing two stumpings, taking two catches and assisting in a crucial run out. The commentators put out the call to her uncle, former Australia gloveman Ian Healy for his thoughts…

The big news

England, last year’s 50-over World Cup champions, suffered a huge blow on the eve of their campaign, with star quick Katherine Brunt ruled out of the tournament due to a back injury. Brunt was under a fitness cloud when she travelled to the Caribbean and in a warm-up match on Wednesday, her troublesome back flared up just five balls into her first over. She’s been replaced in England’s squad by Fran Wilson, who is not expected to be available for selection for their first game against Sri Lanka in St Lucia on Saturday.

What’s next

On Sunday, the action moves to St Lucia, home base for Group A. England will meet Sri Lanka in the day’s only match, at Daren Sammy Cricket Ground from 4pm local time (7am AEDT)

2018 ICC Women's World T20  

Australia squad: Meg Lanning (c), Rachael Haynes (vc), Nicole Bolton, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy (wk), Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Elyse Villani, Tayla Vlaeminck, Georgia Wareham

November 9: Australia beat Pakistan by 52 runs

November 11: Australia v Ireland, Province Stadium

November 13: Australia v New Zealand, Province Stadium

November 17: Australia v India, Province Stadium

November 22: Semi-finals, Sir Vivian Richards Ground, Antigua

November 24: Final, Sir Vivian Richards Ground