Global T20 Canada

Warner ends run drought in Canada

Opener posts 42 for Winnipeg, his first double-figure score in his comeback to cricket in Toronto


12 July 2018, 10:08 AM AEST

Former Australia vice-captain David Warner led from the front as his Winnipeg Hawks team eased to an eight-wicket win against the Edmonton Royals at the Global T20 Canada tournament.

Chasing a target of 142, Warner made 42 off 35 balls to set the Hawks on the road to a second-round victory on Thursday.

Warner burnt, Smith misses out in Canada clash

In his return to cricket following the South African ball-tampering scandal, today was the first time in six innings in Toronto that Warner has scored more than six; his previous knocks in the tournament returned scores of 1, 4, 1, 6 and 0.

The Hawks captain shared an opening stand of 90 in 11.4 overs with Lendl Simmons before the West Indian batsman had to retire hurt on 38.

Warner was caught by Mohammad Irfan with the score on 124, but Mark Deyal's 37 not out ensured Winnipeg reached caught Edmonton with 3.2 overs to spare.

Warner fails with the bat, shines in the field

Earlier, Agha Salman hit 43 in 34 deliveries, while Abraash Khan hit 30 in 25 balls as Edmonton was bowled out for 141 in 19.5 overs.

West Indian paceman Fidel Edwards picked up the man of the match award after taking 4-19 in 3.5 overs for Winnipeg.

Canadian spinner Hiral Patel and Simmons chipped in with two wickets apiece.

Global T20 Canada

28 June - 15 July: Click here for the complete schedule

Toronto Nationals: Darren Sammy (c), Steve Smith, Kieron Pollard, Kamran Akmal, Hussain Talat, Rumman Raees, Nikhil Dutta, Johnson Charles, Kesrick Williams, Farhan Malik, Usama Mir, Rohan Mustafa, Nitish Kumar, Nizakat Khan, Mohammad Umair, Anton Devcich, Mohammad Sami, Mohammad Naveed.

Montreal Tigers: Lasith Malinga (c), Sunil Narine, Thisara Perera, Mohammad Hafeez, Denesh Ramdin, Sandeep Lamichhane, Sikandar Raza, Dasun Shanaka, Isuru Udana, George Worker, Najibullah Zadran, Cecil Pervez, Ibrahim Khaleel, Dillon Heyliger, Nicholas Kirton, Rayyan Pathan, Dwayne Smith, Moises Henriques, Peter Siddle, Kevon Cooper.

Edmonton Royals: Shahid Afridi (c), Luke Ronchi, Mohammad Irfan, Sohail Tanvir, Christiaan Jonker, Wayne Parnell, Asif Ali, Hasan Khan, Agha Salman, Shaiman Anwar, Satsimranjit Dhindsa, Ahmed Raza, Abraash Khan, Ammar Khalid, Simon Pervez, Umar Akmal, Farhaan Behardien, Andre Fletcher.

Vancouver Knights: Chris Gayle (c), Andre Russell, Evin Lewis, Tim Southee, Chadwick Walton, Fawad Ahmed, Babar Hayat, Sheldon Cottrell, Saad Bin Zafar, Ruvindu Gunasekera, Srimantha Wijeratne, Kamau Leverock, Steven Jacobs, Salman Nazar, Rassie van der Dussen , Jeremy Gordon.

Winnipeg Hawks: Dwayne Bravo (c), David Miller, David Warner, Lendl Simmons, Darren Bravo, Fidel Edwards, Rayad Emrit, Ben McDermott, Ali Khan, Hamza Tariq, Junaid Siddique, Tion Webster, Rizwan Cheema, Hiral Patel, Mark Deyal, Kyle Phillip

Cricket West Indies 'B' Team: Anthony Bramble (c), Fabian Allen, Alick Athanaze, Roland Cato, Justin Greaves, Derval Green, Kavem Hodge, Brandon King, Jeremiah Louis, Obed McCoy, Khary Pierre, Nicholas Pooran, Sherfane Rutherford, Shamar Springer.