Domain Tests v India

Prized Kohli wicket falls to Cummins

Pat Cummins has twice picked up the prized scalp of Virat Kohli early in his spell

AAP & Cricket Network

6 December 2018, 12:31 PM AEST

Khawaja classic catch removes Kohli

In just four balls, Australian paceman Pat Cummins has become Virat Kohli's nemesis.

Cummins has twice in four deliveries in Test cricket dethroned the Indian king.

In the first Test in Adelaide on Thursday, Cummins dismissed Kohli with his third ball of the innings, and third to the Indian captain.

In Ranchi in March last year, the Australian quick claimed Kohli's scalp with the only ball he bowled at the Indian hero.

Cummins strikes to continue Kohli's lean run

Both times, Kohli has fallen cheaply - just three runs in Adelaide, only six in Ranchi.

Kohli on Thursday fell to a barely believable catch by Usman Khawaja at gully.

The Indian skipper played a loose shot, driving away from his body to a fullish Cummins delivery.

The ball caught the edge of Kohli's bat and flew to the left of Khawaja who, diving at full-stretch, completed a stunning one-handed catch.

As Australian players mobbed Khawaja, a man not renowned for his fielding, Kohli stood at the batting crease in disbelief at the brilliant catch.

Cummins celebrates taking the scalp of Kohli // Getty Images
Cummins celebrates taking the scalp of Kohli // Getty Images

After a prolonged pause, Kohli turned and headed to the dressing room after a rare failure in Adelaide.

In the last Test he played in Adelaide in December 2014, Kohli posted twin tons - 115 and 141.

And in the January 2012 Test in Adelaide, Kohli scored 116 and 22.

Domain Test Series v India

Dec 6-10: First Test, Adelaide Oval

Dec 14-18: Second Test, Perth Stadium

Dec 26-30: Third Test, MCG

Jan 3-7: Fourth Test, SCG

Australia squad: Tim Paine (c, wk), Josh Hazlewood (vc), Mitch Marsh (vc), Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Chris Tremain

India squad: Virat Kohli (c), Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (wk), Parthiv Patel (wk), Ravi Ashwin, Ravi Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar