Gillette ODIs v South Africa

Changes possible for Hobart ODI

The makeup of Australia's XI for the one-day series decider against South Africa in Hobart on Sunday is still unknown


11 November 2018, 08:04 AM AEST

Australia might turn to Ashton Agar in Sunday's one-day series decider against South Africa in Hobart.

The 25-year-old spinner will come under selection discussion in an Australian camp buoyed by a breakthrough win in Adelaide.

With the series squared, Australia will again field a spinner although leggie Adam Zampa is feeling the squeeze after 0-57 from nine overs in Adelaide.

But Zampa did score an invaluable late 22 in Australia's innings which proved vital in the victory.

Aussies level series with tight ODI win

Paceman Josh Hazlewood expects the Hobart pitch to produce plenty of runs in the decider, believing a specialist spin option is wise.

"Having him (a spinner) in the team just creates that different dynamic in the bowling group," Hazlewood said.

"We'll have to have a look at the wicket but I always like the variability of a spinner.

"There's sometimes a little bit in that Hobart wicket in longer-form games but it's usually a pretty good track for limited-overs cricket - probably high scores as per usual."

Australia's 'big overs' cost us: Miller

South Africa fell seven runs short in chasing 232 runs to win game two on Friday night, David Miller top-scoring with 51.

"Australia were 9-204, and dragged that last partnership out which, if you want to be critical, that is probably where we did the lose game," Miller said.

"We're obviously very disappointed.

"They're high-class bowlers and they did bowl really well, great areas, didn't give us much.

"Obviously, it didn't work out well for us. We have got a lot to learn from that."

Australia v Proteas, Gillette ODI series, November 2018

First ODI: South Africa won by six wickets

Second ODI: Australia won by seven runs

Third ODI: Blundstone Arena, Hobart, November 11

Australia squad: Aaron Finch (c), Josh Hazlewood (vc), Alex Carey (vc), Ashton Agar, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, D'Arcy Short, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa

South Africa squad: Faf du Plessis (c), Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Heinrich Klaasen, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Chris Morris, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn.